Anadarko Petroleum Corporation Securities Litigation

Court: United States District Court, Southern District of Texas
Case Number: 1:10 CIV 4905
Judge: Hon. Keith P. Ellison
Class Period: June 12, 2009 through June 9, 2010
Case Contacts: John C. Browne, Jeremy P. Robinson

Securities fraud class action filed on behalf of a class of persons and entities who purchased or acquired the securities of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation ("Anadarko") between June 12, 2009 and June 9, 2010, inclusive (the "Class Period"). 

This action brought claims for violations of the federal securities laws by Anadarko, its Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Accounting Officer.  The Complaint alleges that Defendants materially misled investors about the deepwater Macondo well site located in the Gulf of Mexico—a joint venture that Anadarko entered into with BP, p.l.c. ("BP") and MOEX Offshore 2007 LLC. The Complaint further alleges that after the explosion and oil spill at the Macondo well on April 20, 2010, Anadarko further mislead investors as to the extent of Anadarko’s involvement in the well. 

The Complaint alleges that Defendants' alleged misconduct served to artificially inflate the price of Anadarko securities during the Class Period.  

On November 16, 2010, the Honorable Paul G. Gardephe entered an order appointing the Pension Trust Fund for Operating Engineers and Employees' Retirement System of the Government of the Virgin Islands as Lead Plaintiffs and approving their selection of BLB&G as Lead Counsel for the Class. On March 19, 2012, Judge Gardephe granted Lead Plaintiffs’ transfer motion and the action is now properly venued in the Southern District of Texas and assigned to the Honorable Keith P. Ellison.  Defendants moved to dismiss, on July 15, 2013, Judge Ellison issued an opinion that denied in part and granted in part Defendants’ motion to dismiss. 

Lead Plaintiffs Reached a Settlement of the Action for $12.5 million

On May 16, 2014, Lead Plaintiffs submitted to the Court a proposed Settlement that would resolve all claims in the Action in exchange for payment of $12.5 million in cash.  On June 12, 2014, Judge Ellison preliminarily approved the Settlement and ordered that notice be sent to potential Settlement Class Members.  Following the Settlement Hearing on September 11, 2014, Judge Ellison approved the Settlement, the proposed Plan of Allocation, and Lead Counsel's motion for an award of attorneys' fees and reimbursement of Litigation Expenses.

Important information about the Settlement is contained in the Notice of (I) Pendency of Class Action and Proposed Settlement; (II) Settlement Fairness Hearing; and (III) Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Reimbursement of Litigation Expenses (the “Notice”).  If you are a member of the Settlement Class defined in the Notice, your rights are affected by the Settlement.  Please be sure to read the Notice to fully understand the effect of the Settlement on Settlement Class Members. You may obtain copies of the Notice and the Claim Form (no longer available) from the Case Documents page on this website or from


Other Cases of Interest

  • CenturyLink
    District of Minnesota John C. Browne, Michael D. Blatchley, Richard D. Gluck, Michael Mathai, Amanda Boitano
  • GT Advanced Technologies Inc.
    District of New Hampshire John C. Browne, Lauren McMillen Ormsbee
  • HP Inc.
    Northern District of California Jeremy P. Robinson, Jonathan D. Uslaner, Hannah Ross, Avi Josefson, Michael D. Blatchley
  • Allergan, Inc. (Drug Pricing)
    District of New Jersey John C. Browne, Lauren McMillen Ormsbee
  • Energy Transfer LP
    Eastern District of Pennsylvania John C. Browne, Michael D. Blatchley, Hannah Ross, Adam H. Wierzbowski, Michael Mathai, James M. Fee
  • Navient Corporation
    District of Delaware Salvatore J. Graziano, Jeremy P. Robinson, Jesse L. Jensen, R. Ryan Dykhouse
  • Boeing Company
    Northern District of Illinois Eastern Division John C. Browne, Adam Hollander, Abe Alexander, James M. Fee, Katherine M. Sinderson
  • Evoqua Water Technologies Corp.
    Southern District of New York Jeremy P. Robinson, Jai K. Chandrasekhar, Christopher Miles
  • Stericycle, Inc.
    District of Illinois Eastern Division John C. Browne, Adam H. Wierzbowski
  • Venator Materials PLC
    Southern District of Texas, Houston Division John C. Browne, Michael D. Blatchley, Nicholas Gersh