Atmel Corporation Shareholder Litigation

Court: Delaware Court of Chancery
Case Number: 4161-CC
Judge: Chancellor William B. Chandler III
Case Contacts: Mark Lebovitch, Jeroen van Kwawegen

On November 14, 2008, BLB&G filed a class action complaint in the Delaware Court of Chancery on behalf of Plaintiff Louisiana Municipal Police Employees’ Retirement System and other shareholders of Atmel Corporation (“Atmel”) against the Atmel board of directors (the “Board”) challenging the Board’s novel extension of the poison pill device.

On February 2, 2009, Plaintiff filed a Motion for Injunctive Relief seeking to invalidate the Board’s adoption of a draconian extension of the poison pill mechanism.  On March 26, 2009, Plaintiff responded to Defendants' opposition of Plaintiff's Motion for Injunctive Relief.  Following injunction proceedings on May 19, 2009, and on the eve of trial, the Defendants agreed to alter their poison pill to eliminate the offensive provisions, and agreed to refrain from similar conduct in the future. 

Other Cases of Interest

  • SCANA Corporation
    District of South Carolina (Columbia Division) John C. Browne, Jeroen van Kwawegen, Lauren McMillen Ormsbee, Michael Mathai, Kate Aufses
  • Oracle Corporation
    Northern District of California John Rizio-Hamilton, Mark Lebovitch, Jonathan D. Uslaner, Abe Alexander
  • Symantec Corporation
    Northern District of California Jeroen van Kwawegen, Jeremy P. Robinson, Rebecca E. Boon
  • NVIDIA Corporation
    Northern District of California John C. Browne, Jeroen van Kwawegen, Jonathan D. Uslaner, Michael Mathai, Lauren M. Cruz
  • Fluor Corporation
    Northern District of Texas Gerald H. Silk, Mark Lebovitch, Avi Josefson
  • Synchrony Financial
    District of Connecticut Jeroen van Kwawegen, Adam H. Wierzbowski, Kate Aufses
  • CVR Refining
    Delaware Court of Chancery Mark Lebovitch, David Wales, Thomas James
  • Tile Shop
    Delaware Chancery Court Gregory V. Varallo, Mark Lebovitch, Christopher J. Orrico, Jacqueline Y. Ma
  • Pfizer, Inc.
    Southern District of New York Mark Lebovitch, David Wales, Jeroen van Kwawegen, Jonathan D. Uslaner
  • McKesson Corporation
    Northern District of California, Oakland Division Mark Lebovitch, David Wales, Alla Zayenchik